Over the past month or so, I’ve been meticulously recording acoustic versions of what I consider to be my best songs.  To help improve the quality of my recordings, I made some strategic investments including new vocal and stereo mics (for the guitar) from Michael Joly Engineering, acoustic foam for my walls, new studio monitors and acoustic treatment shield behind my vocal microphone.  As a result, I can honestly say that these recordings are by far the most balanced acoustic guitar and vocal recordings I’ve ever self-produced.

The goal with recordings was to prevent an alternative to something that I see as a problem with pretty much all commercial music today:  that everything we hear on the radio is doctored up so much by computers to fix all of the little imperfections..it’s really rare to hear something that’s recorded well that was a continuous take of anything, and not chopped up into little bits and altered by some type of DAW or computer software for audio recording.  I’ve decided to call this collection of songs (ok its an album) “Human Music” because I left in some of the little pops that made it through my pop shield, and didn’t go in and pitch correct anything, or slice up (and combine multiple tracks) to fix minor timing mistakes, etc.  Essentially everything is continuous takes with guitar and vocals being recorded at the same time, which is how I perform my songs.  What this means that is if you enjoy my live performances, you should love this album, imperfections and all!

I’m happy to announce that the tracks are all mixed now, and that I’ve submitted them for mastering to Sage Audio in Nashville.  I should have the masters back in a week or so, which will help me determine a final release date.  You can subscribe to my mailing list to get notified when the release date is finalized.

Here’s the track listing:

1.  Spontaneity
2.  Overwhelmed
3.  Fragile
4.  My Mind’s Already Made Up
5.  This Time I Will Change
6.  Hungover
7.  The Unexplainable Funk
8.  The Waves Come Crashing In
9.  I Love the Way
10.  Followed by a Falling Star
11.  I am Floored
12.  History Lesson
13.  Drive into the Blue
14.  Caff-fiend
15.  The World is My Imaginary Drumset

In other news, for folks that live near Salt Lake City, I’ll be playing a backyard house concert on Saturday night next week with Jason Brown in the Holladay area.  Between the Facebook event and meet-up invite, I’d say we’re expecting a good crowd of 30-40 people, so it should really be a fun time.  If you want more info, you can call MacNichol Guitars at (800) 849-3305 for the location and more information. There is a $10 per person cover which is going directly to Jason and me 🙂

For those who typically watch me in Second Life, I’ve got a number of shows next week including Drunken Drow, Ecnad, Hotel Chelsea and Guthries.  I’ll get the times and dates updated in the events section of this website in the next couple of days.